Old newby

Mayo

Seed
Reaction score
Yes, I am an old (81) newby with a major interest in developing yamadori as bonsai. My grandkids are interested so I'm including them in my own learning process. With luck they're the ones who will see limber pine and whitebark pine trained however they choose.
I live in northwest Wyoming's part of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem and many of the trees that grow here are conifers. I'm in Zone 4 which means one must choose trees with built-in hardiness. The above mentioned ones are beyond hardy; some live more than a thousand years.
I'm a retired journalist ("Enemy of the American People," is what our president calls us. I'm very proud of it), I fly fish, hike, camp and explore as many of the Rocky Mountain nooks and crannies as possible. I am in constant contact with the wonders nature offers.
I have much to learn and I'm enthused about learning. My current plan is to harvest two limbers and two whitebarks this fall and get them into grow boxes. That's how I found this forum -- looking for suggestions about grow boxes. I'm already very impressed. I'll build my own. I have the appropriate permits and must harvest just as soon as conifers in this region go dormant for the winter. I realize that spring is better for transplanting, but, hey, as the trees are coming out of dormancy here they're still mostly covered by snow.
This is by way of introduction and I believe I'll find this forum very helpful.

Cheers,
Malin Foster

Melospiza

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Hope you have a great time with your grandkids learning about bonsai!

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Anyone who takes compliment in politicians calling them the enemy of the people (no matter their location) is a friend of mine.
Politics seems to be the poison-topic in this place, so I'm staying far from it.

Anyhow, welcome to the forum! I hope you guys have a lot of fun here.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!