Olive cuttings experiment

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I recently got a bunch of small leafed olive cuttings, some were pretty thick, some with good movement, but overall I want to see how they develop in the a year and wanted to share this with you guys and gals.
I used a cactus mix medium, covered them in plastic and are in a shady spot until they take and start showing growth. After that, I will uncover them and put them into the sun. First time doing this, hope it all works out.
Planted 4/13/19
IMG_3093.JPG
IMG_3095.JPG
IMG_3094.JPG

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have no experience growing olives from cuttings but.. Why in the shade? I would have thought they would need full sun for rooting?

akhater

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'd go full sun and a black bag for the first few weeks...

bonhe

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Housguy,
Your set up should be perfect for cutting. I used to do a big olive cuttings with trunk base diameter about 45 cm and they all rooted out.
Shade or sun exposure before the cuttings survive depends on where we are living. I am living in hot and dry area, I won’t place the new cutting under the sun because I know the heat building up in the “ small green house “ will high enough to kill any young leaves when they just come out without root support!
Thụ Thoại

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I have no experience growing olives from cuttings but.. Why in the shade? I would have thought they would need full sun for rooting?
It will get to hot. We will see, I was told to put them in the shade in the beginning.

Thanks bonhe, will get some more detailed pics next weekend.

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
First update on olive cuttings is looking good, fourteen have sprouted and they are all the big fat cuttings :D. Continuing to cover them and hoping to see some more sprout out for now, but I like where is it going after six and half months.