open pi irrigation

watchndsky

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
i always used these timers for watering
41+vyvMYE1L.jpg

they were great and simplified running the power/water lines etc. easy to program, battery operated - but not cheap and no longer in stock in stores. at 50 a pop they were expensive but if it saved me time, it was worth it. except that for 8 timer stations, i was replacing 2-3 each year for apparent reason. batteries were good etc, but would randomly lose their mind, lose their time and settings, so it was time to find another solution.

im a programmer and was going to find a solution using a rasp pi, bury power and a new water line out to the back etc - but then i came across a seller on the net. i dont know forum rules off the top of my head but a google search should bring him up for thos einterested.

so i bought one and created this using pvc fittings from lowes as a custom manifold for each station. it was a lot of work burying new lines etc, and i kept the old setup in place as backup until ive tested this for a season

20171121_193925.jpg20171121_194009.jpg20171122_122506.jpg

all the coding is done, when you purchase all you have to do is connect and set your schedules etc. i hooked the unit up one channel at a time and tested opening an closing each valve in the driveway and its really nice being able to control from a web browser or my cell.

20171121_193914.jpg