Ornamental Bonsai Sculpture

benny350

Seed
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I thought I would share this here. I'm a 3d Artist when I'm not playing with my trees but recently I mixed them together and this is the result. I've uploaded it to Shapeways which is a 3d printing service where the model can be printed and bought. It stands 15cm tall and is printed in a high strength plastic material, these pics are only renders of the sculpture but I will update with actual photos once my one arrives.

http://www.shapeways.com/shops/bennysbonsai

Cheers, Benny

Bonsai_001.jpg

Bonsai_002.jpg

daygan

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
looks cool. If it's a 3D model, wouldn't it be "produced" as opposed to "printed", as "printing", to me, means putting ink on paper...?

FrankP999

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is a new type of printer that does "print" in 3 dimensions. They use a thermoplastic material as the "ink" and builds up the plastic on sucessive pases of the print head. They used to cost tens of thousands$$$ but smaller versions are appearing for the home market. I read recently of a surgeon using this type of printer to print a new jawbone for implantation in humans.

daygan

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thats just... wow. amazing :p ... what will they come up with next? Ha.

raydomz

Shohin
Reaction score
This is a new type of printer that does "print" in 3 dimensions. They use a thermoplastic material as the "ink" and builds up the plastic on sucessive pases of the print head. They used to cost tens of thousands$$$ but smaller versions are appearing for the home market. I read recently of a surgeon using this type of printer to print a new jawbone for implantation in humans.
Just heard this on the radio! Belgium I believe..
This is great though. Very cool idea. Being an illustrator myself I've always wondered about 3D and the infinite possibilities.
Are you using cinema 4d or rhino or what?

Great!

benny350

Seed
Reaction score