Overwintering - Apartment Balcony in D.C.

tpallas

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Hello -

This is my first year keeping trees (all pre-bonsai). I have trident maple, white oak, Korean hornbeam, shimpaku, Japanese maple, and wisteria. I'm researching to prepare to overwinter them so would certainly appreciate any advice.

I live on the 12th floor of an east-facing apartment and keep everything on a balcony. Do I have a hope of keeping these plants overwinter protected from the wind? Or would you recommend other measures?

Thanks!

CHUCHIN

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Protect the tridents. Get yourself a cement tub from Home Depot and a bag of mulch. Bury pot and tree. Keep trees out of the wind.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I live in your area and am a big proponent of not over thinking over wintering, but I also dig most of my stuff in with some mulch on the ground. I wish we had enough snow to pile on top of the plants as that is actually a pretty good insulator. It is my understanding that ground offers a fair amount of ambient heat during the coldest parts of the winter.
I haven't had experience overwintering on a balcony and I'd be curious to hear if anyone had.
I would think you have two options.. either, leave them out on the balcony for survival of the fittest (you might be surprised how many make it through just fine), or build some sort of partitions to block the wind and feed a pipe heating cable(they sell them to keep pipes from bursting) around the bottom of the enclosure to take the edge off when it drops below freezing. You'll have to check the moisture more often with the heat supply even if it doesn't kick in until around freezing.

lordy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a