Parsons Juniper Progression - Zone 7b - Piedmont North Carolina USA

sbarnhardt

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Just take it with a grain of salt, Vance is like a strangler fig, Very strangling but beautiful in a strange way.

We all goof, and bonsai is a thing that takes years to master. I'm still learning every year, but I've killed trees, made things ugly, set things back-BUT what'll set you apart is if you keep going and learn and don't make the same mistake over again.

Thanks for the thoughts! I accept that I fouled up, but I'd be less than honest if I said I thoroughly understood what/how I did. I guess what would reinforce things for me is if I could see a picture of what it "should have been" like. Does that make sense? I "thought" I was good before from reading. Now I'd really like to "see" what I should have been doing. Do you have any suggestions? I ask respectfully or as much so as I know how to.

sbarnhardt

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
If you want to hear what really happened you should know just for your sake. Regroup and move forward, this I agree with. It was mentioned in a post previously that you had to get growth forming in closer to the trunk but for some reason you did not see this and did the exact oposite, you started cutting growth out of the interior of the tree. With Parsons Juniper this is an issue you can not afford to do, they do not back bud as well as The Chinese Junipers. I don't think this tree is beyond hope but you need to change your way of doing things and make sure you understand what you are doing and why you are doing it. If you don't know for sure ask and please for all our sakes ask before you do it not after it is done.