Parvifolia: Rookie mistakes

Mr.Dr.K

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I'm new to Bonsai and currently harbor two trees. My first, a Chinease Elm which was gifted about three summers ago as a very small, young sapling. Great beginner tree as they are very tough.

My 1st mistake: Initially, not learning of my species of tree; how it grows, native Habitat etc...

Secondly: No real plan on how I wanted to style the tree or no real general knowledge of Bonsai and Horticulture in general.

Third: leaving the tree too long in it's pot, allowing it to become root-bound and performing an emergency repot after returning from a short vacation in September of 2021 after 1/3 of the Tree's foliage dropped. Luckily for me, the tree began to spring-back withing 2-3 weeks and actually had a flush of growth before winter dormancy. Now it has a Buds that are beginning to swell.

Fourth: Work at the wrong time of year. Before I spent some time and actually read a book on Bonsai, I decided I wanted the lower-trunk at soil-level to thicken, and proceeded to scrap some bark from the lower trunk in Fall to induce scarring—which, of course was a terrible idea, hindsight. I noticed after a while I saw some grubs, nibbling away at the bark that had become punky. I removed them, of course and have been keeping the soil on the dry side. Now, I have the issue to fix, which leads me into a question... of how.

I was advised on bare-rooting the tree once the buds begin to swell, which I intend to do. I believe I'm there or very close. We experienced very warm temperatures the last few weeks (60's and 70's) and are expected to drop to well below freezing for a few days for low temperatures, which is unusual for my area. Although, March and April can be two of the nastiest months, here. Is this tree telling me it's safe to repot with some protection, or wait?