Philadelphus lewisii?

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
AKA Lewis mock orange or syringa. Any opinions on this species as a possible bonsai? I have multiple bushes of this growing at my place and one really needs to be removed.
I've been putting it off for a few years, its probably been growing there for 30+ year and I know its going to be a chore getting it out if the ground. Now I'm wondering if it might be a decent subject?
I did cut it back to 2 feet or so, just to get the limbs out of the way and I don't actually remember what the stump looks like and right now, its under a foot of snow. I do know its a clump with multiple trunks, mostly straight. The largest might be 3-4 inches across.
It will be a ton of work and I am a absolute beginner but since its destined for the burn pile, I might as well learn on it.

Geo

Chumono
Reaction score
Todos Santos,Baja Sur Elev56M 23.46N 110.24W
USDA Zone
11+
Welcome to BNut, @GailC. I used to live in extreme South Ontario. There were a couple growing around somewhere on the property. You made me remember the lovely white flowers and their outstanding perfume. Cannot grow them where i live now, more's the pity. Why not try a dig just before budbreak. Research collecting this winter and have a go. Please fill in your location, or at least climate zone in your profile.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Sounds like a subject fish the carving block!

Why Not?

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
There lovely scent is one reason I keep the unruly trees on the property. The ones by the front door scent the house and whole front yard. Its a wonderful species and they seem to grow fast or at least bounce back from trimming quickly.
Not sure if the one I had plans for will work but if not, I'm sure I can find another since they grow like weeds arounds here. We don't have a lot of interesting native trees here but I hope to find a few different varieties this spring.