Picking out bonsai liners

Cable

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'm looking for some feedback so that I might learn more (n00b here).

Background: I've been interested in bonsai for at least 25 but it wasn't until recently that I started doing something about it. I organized and attended a beginner's workshop taught by a local expert. For the workshop I wanted people to have untrained trees they could work on. My bonsai guy was not thrilled with my selections. Now, granted, I approached it from the perspective that most of these plants were going to be killed by the total novices but I get what he was saying about there not being much to work with.

I'm working on putting together workshop #2 and picked out a few liners for the students to use. I took bonsai guy's advice and looked for plants we were going to throw away (I work at a plant nursery) since I agreed that plants too ugly to sell in a garden center often make good bonsai stock. However, that also meant I didn't have a lot to choose from.

Below are some pictures of what I picked and my logic for doing so. I'd like to know if I was on the right track or totally blew it. I know two of them I'm already not happy with BUT they'll work since like I said... beginners kill.

CORNUS%20ALTERNIFOLIA2.jpg

I liked the roots on this cornus alternifolia and though the trunk had some possibilities.

CORNUS%20FLORIDA.jpg

I thought the roots were great on this cornus florida

AMELANCHIER%20LAMARCKII.jpg

Amelanchier lamarkii with a nice lean and some fun roots. Apparently I'm a root man...

CHIONANTHUS%20VIRGINICUS.jpg

I may have messed up on this chionanthus virginicus. I really don't remember what I was going for when I picked it out. Maybe I liked the multiple stems?

EUONYMUS%20ALATUS%20COMPACTUS.jpg

It isn't evident in this picture but this euonymus alatus compactus already looks like a miniature tree and I liked the bark striations. I'm hoping that hint of an exposed root has more hidden below the surface.