Pilot pot for wood grow boxes

Hbhaska

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
This is my first attempted wood growing pot from 1x4 fir boards and 1x2 spf (spruce-pine-fir) furring strips from Lowe’s. It’s kind of a pilot pot for me. It turned out sturdy and I will make larger grow boxes in the future. Here are additional materials I used, all purchased from Lowe’s - Deck screws (8x15/8), M-D extra heavy duty mesh (pet screen). That’s pretty much it.

I first made a rectangle with pilot holes on cut (14 inch and 8 inch) boards (2 for each side) and screwd them together. Then I cut out mesh to size and stapled to the bottom. Bottom was then reinforced with 1x2’s cut to size, leaving a reasonable amount of space in-between. Finally, I finished off the pot with legs using short 1x2’s.

please let me know what you think. I didn’t invent these and I got ideas from several sources. I believe @Vance Wood was the brainchild behind these pots.

thank you2F2D9B9E-873E-4464-8B1F-65C7FDD74D69.jpeg14E1B2BF-4C7F-441F-AA54-FDFEF93AC584.jpegA2DD6554-7DED-4BFE-8188-59855F02211D.jpeg5173E1BA-746E-46BF-BA39-2499E94F8707.jpeg3E1F9157-8CE3-4E98-96EE-7DE784EA9417.jpegA4032B07-48D3-4566-8997-043875DBBEBB.jpeg

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Looking good!
Heck, carpentry words in English aren't my best, so bear with me. The only thing I'd do differently is the side boards. I would make them fit in between the front and back board instead of fitting the back and front in between the sides.
Why?
I like picking up pots and placing my fingers on the bottom and my thumb over the sides. Or I add handles to the sides. Over time the wood will go a little soft - especially on the bottom - and I've had the sides fall off when lifting pots.

Your construction will likely be strong enough to hold up for a long time. So this might be a bit over-careful, but it doesn't hurt to build in some extra security.