Pinching nursery stock aka PreBonsai question

ant888

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hi all. I was wondering if it's appropriate to pinch deciduous buds if I repotted a new tree I bought from nursery. I didn't mess with the root system, I will study the roots next spring at the right season.

As a beginner, I read different things about this topic some I read say to give the tree time to establish again, but I didn't take the rootball apart or did any root pruning, I simply repotted because the original pot was made of really cheap plastic.

So should I wait to pinch the buds, or do it now? I don't want the tree to grow internodes and get tall before next spring. I'd rather have some of the growth focus on making the inner medium branches become a little bit "fuller", instead of growing taller and taller. Thanks in advance!

Juanmi

Mame
Reaction score
I would say let the tree get confortable in its new environment and let it get strong. Even if you didn't touch the root system a tree is not suposed to move from one place to another. You'll always have time to pinch later.

Maybe you can tell us more about the tree.

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
Hi all. I was wondering if it's appropriate to pinch deciduous buds if I repotted a new tree I bought from nursery. I didn't mess with the root system, I will study the roots next spring at the right season.

As a beginner, I read different things about this topic some I read say to give the tree time to establish again, but I didn't take the rootball apart or did any root pruning, I simply repotted because the original pot was made of really cheap plastic.

So should I wait to pinch the buds, or do it now? I don't want the tree to grow internodes and get tall before next spring. I'd rather have some of the growth focus on making the inner medium branches become a little bit "fuller", instead of growing taller and taller. Thanks in advance!