Pine bark chips

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I am gathering info on different type of soils and i have little to no experience with the use of pine bark.

I have a few questions,
How long does it take before the chips are decomposed in the mix.

I guess roots cant penetrate the chips untill after a certain amount of time, i hope anyone knows after how long that would be?

What is the cation exchange capacity of pine bark ?

Any other pro's and cons of the use of pinebark chips?

Thnx in advance!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
While I hate bark like reptibark, I find thinner pine bark chips, the type sold here as "soil conditioner" for cheap as hell, like $5 for a bag too big to carry...more acceptable.
My best year of growth ever was in DE/PBC/Biotone.

Dried out the DE a little faster, this could be good or bad.

Sorce

Clicio

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a
Adding to your questions (sorry if hijacking your thread), how acidic really is pine bark?

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
While I hate bark like reptibark, I find thinner pine bark chips, the type sold here as "soil conditioner" for cheap as hell, like $5 for a bag too big to carry...more acceptable.
My best year of growth ever was in DE/PBC/Biotone.

Dried out the DE a little faster, this could be good or bad.

Sorce

These are the chips i have
20180306_180141.jpg

Anthony

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
We asked these types of questions a few years ago, of older IBCers.

The response was -

[1] Turns to mush in about 3 to 4 months.

[2] Get it composted as you lose space with the decomposition.

So we left the idea alone [ we can get bark down here from the sawmills ]
and stayed with compost. Which actually decomposes and glues itself
into a larger shape and then still holds moisture / fertiliser in solution.

What became apparent was -- if using an inorganic that is durable to roots