Pines and firs and spruce, oh my!

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I've found an area I can collect lodgepole, limber and pinyon pine as well as Douglas, subalpine and white fir, and blue and engelmann spruce. I plan to use one or more for the native challenge. Given this selection and targeting 2-3 trees in the spring what species would you target?

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
That is awesome. You are fortunate. If you are new to collecting take it easy and be gentle on mom nature. You don't need to load the whole Planet Express cargo bay.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
That is awesome. You are fortunate. If you are new to collecting take it easy and be gentle on mom nature. You don't need to load the whole Planet Express cargo bay.
I feel really fortunate! It's taken a lot of very friendly calls to get to the right people to get permits and direction to the right areas. I am new to collecting for sure and definitely realize videos and research only go so far to having any clue as to what I'm doing. I'll definitely be erring on the more soil and root than is probably necessary side. Also love the Futurama reference. I don't want to dig up too many but also don't want to waste a 4hr drive each way and only dig one.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Have your box materials ready to make a custom box to fit the rootball when you get home. You want a box about 1 inch wider than the root ball on all sides. Any bigger is both a waste of pumice, and actually detrimental to the tree. Use straight pumice as soil.

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone