Pinus mugo Jacobsen

Reaction score
Beginner here . Living in zone 4 of Minnesota , we don’t have access to Japanese black pines or Japanese white pines . But we do have mugo .

Today found an amazing Jacobson mugo pine at local nursery and at a bargain as it wasn’t in greatest of condition . Lots of dead branches and when took it out of put to check heavily root bound and also it was planted way deep . I have been searching for a nice one that I like for over a year and finally found one I think …

Brought it home , cleaned up the dead woods and brown needles , potted in an air pot with pumice , pine bark fines and red lava . Took out 1/3rd of roots and kept root ball mostly intact as am scared to bare root it .
Planted with Myke’s mycorrhizae and gave it a drink with superthrive .

Let me know what Incan do to reduce the transplant shock . I have heard of Dyna Gro KLN but don’t know if it’s needed .

Sorry if this sounds too novice …

anyways here is the pic

Attachments

• E50F063C-08F6-44FE-AC81-6A1B4126BE28.jpeg
    E50F063C-08F6-44FE-AC81-6A1B4126BE28.jpeg
    353.6 KB · Views: 77

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
You can't really reduce transplant shock after a transplant, I believe.
It either happens or it doesn't. But it seems like you're on the right track. In a month or two, you'll know if it liked it or not.

Reaction score
You can't really reduce transplant shock after a transplant, I believe.
It either happens or it doesn't. But it seems like you're on the right track. In a month or two, you'll know if it liked it or not.
Thank you for replying .
Is there anything I can do to help in root development ? Will fertilizing with seaweed or fish fertilizer help ?

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Mugo pines are a single flush pine species, that means they grow once a year.