Pinus nigra surviving needle cast

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Another 1gallon purchase from Lowes back when...whenever it was...
DSC_4244.JPG
I've been treating for needle cast for the last 2 years since I lost my first JBP to it.
DSC_4245.JPG
What I've styled to be the back will probably become the front next potting up.

Sprayed with Phyton27 2 weeks ago and Daconil last night.
When the majority of the candles are half open, I will hit it with the systemic copper again.

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I like it!
I may like it more without the low left branch (1st image)....looks like a bar from here too.
I've never had the balls to try this species, you treat it similarly to Vance's Mugo Lessons?

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I like it!
I may like it more without the low left branch (1st image)....looks like a bar from here too.
I've never had the balls to try this species, you treat it similarly to Vance's Mugo Lessons?
Thanks @just.wing.it Yes that left branch is a bar and the one over it will be brought down.

Nope, I pot it in Spring as with other pines.
I pinch the candles down save for years like this one where it is gaining strength back.
I normally pinch the candles off by 75% and cut back over grown branches in March or August.
This year I will be cutting shoots back rather than pinching candles since the needle cast saps energy.

A week 10 days ago maybe, I would have pinched the strong candles back to 25%
a week or so later the mid strength ones, then before they open the weaker ones lower down if need be.
Not that these are the best practices, but is how I've been dealing with this one.
Really gotta get that lichen and needle cast under control. Hope to pot it down some next year.

bonsaichile

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b