Pitch pine correction

Fribe

Sapling
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
20200906_080809.jpg
So I collected this pitch pine a while ago and haven't touched it for a year. This is a trial specimen before I'll go collect the one I marked last year.
20200904_113511.jpg

Now the question is: is there any way to correct those long internodes in pines (pine of first pic)?
Before ruining the tree better ask the experts :)

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Graft. Though I think they say pitch pine backbud well.

Sorce

Fribe

Sapling
Reaction score
I'm not an expert at grafting...if I were to prune it where the first internode is (picture) would it create new shoots from there?20200906_083127.jpg

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I'm not an expert at grafting...if I were to prune it where the first internode is (picture) would it create new shoots from there?View attachment 327330
Probably not. Possibly yes.
Pitch pines are known to be very good back budders, but my pines usually start doing it on their own in the second year after collection.
Cutting branches bare is a risk on pines, since they could very well just drop the entire branch. It's better to leave some foliage, so that the tree knows that the branch still returns investments.

There's also the option to cut back to a lower branch and rebuild the trunk.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm not an expert at grafting...if I were to prune it where the first internode is (picture) would it create new shoots from there?View attachment 327330

I reckon that will kill the branch.

Seems you could get away with a good 3-4 years of growth before cutting anything.

You need green behind the cut. And the cut to ensure backbuds should remove about 60-80% of foalige on the branch, and still leave more than you have on any of them. So...long time.

I would practice collecting a few more shitty ones to get collecting practice up. You'll need that to have the good one live.

Sorce