Plant Identification (Privet?) and Collection

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hi All,

I'm new to collecting and am wondering if someone can confirm this plant. My folks just built a house and apparently have a privet forest in their backyard. The landscaping people came through and clear cut the "forest" some months ago. The result is awesome cut back material just begging to be dug up. I've read that Privet (if that's what these are) are good to be dug in late fall or early spring.

Can anyone confirm that's what this is?
IMG_5206.JPG IMG_5207.JPG IMG_5208.JPG

Lars Grimm

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Looks like privet. They are incredibly resilient and hardy. They back bud like crazy and you can get really nice ramification on them.

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Yes, it's privet. It can literally be ripped out of the ground with your hands, potted up, and it will grow. Clean cuts on the roots are always better though.

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm thinking a privet styling party...

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I dug three up yesterday and plan to dig more today. I was able to collect a good amount of fine feeder roots with each, so I think I'm in good shape. Most of the roots were horizontal so I'm off to a good start. I'll let them establish for at least a season before doing any major work on them. Photos to follow after I'm all done potting them up.

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Here are a few - sorry, it's difficult to get a good picture of the trunks. I planted them low to encourage rooting.IMG_5214.JPGIMG_5216.JPG IMG_5219.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_5215.JPG
    IMG_5215.JPG
    312.3 KB · Views: 10

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Nice find. Enjoy digging. Collecct enough of them. Good to have a play with, and to sell on.

I'll let them establish for at least a season before doing any major work on them