Please advise on organic fert

Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am not good at ferts, its 50% using what I happen to have and 50% forgetting to do it at all.
I used Saidung organic fert pellets for a bit but ran out.
I like the pellet form but I suppose its not that important.

I am looking for a good solid organic fert with ok price

I want to sort of follow Peter Warrens advise for my maples and use mostly inorganic soil, a bit of bark mixed in and use organic fert. Most of my maples have some kind of issue right now. Some chlorosis on beni tsukasa, some retarded growth on little princess.
Should I use biogold, kelp, bone, blood, fish meal?
I saw 5kg biogold for 80 euros, is that good or bad? Is kelp better for JM?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Kelp does not usually have reliable or consistent levels of NPK or micro nutrients. Down here it cannot be marketed as a fertilizer because of the variable levels. it can be useful, just don't use it as primary nutrient source.
Bone and blood meal are not complete fertilizers either. Both have some but not all nutrients that plants need. In the old days when these were all that was available gardeners knew which had what and therefore which to mix or alternate with to give a full coverage of all the vital nutrients that were not available in their soils.
Potting soils tend to have no backup nutrients or very little so any fert that lacks any major or minor nutrient will soon leave the plant with deficiency. You can learn all about all the nutrients and then check analysis of each product and then work out which to mix to give a full spectrum - science degree?? OR let someone else who knows what they are doing work it out and buy a COMPLETE (AKA 'balanced' ) fertilizer.

Biogold is just one of the complete fertilizers. Not available down here so I have not used that one but should have everything your plants need.