Please dumb down "apically dominant" for me

R0b

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
No worries I am not sensitive to some technical discussion and although I have spend most my life on plants and plant science related fields I am not an expert and continue learning. And yes I got a bit carried away from “dumbing” down but I do think it is important to understand (over time) concepts like phototropism, gravitropism, apical dominance and sink source relationships in plants as it will help you to understand why a tree does what it does. These mechanisms have a big effect on the response of trees and plants but they are often also highly interdependent.

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
HERE IS VERY GOOD DISCUSSION OF APICAL DOMINANCE AND CYTOKONINS…..

a very abundant growth element that Kelp has……It actually breaks the Auxin signal to promote backbudding like the branch has broken naturally.

I found this article a few years ago from Bjorn’s website and it’s written by Japanese scientist….. yay yay yay yay.

The fulvic acid /kelp powders combination and 5:2 ratio which I always talk about is incredible foliar feed ….look at the back budding on a 2 -year-old Japanese Black Pine!!!

Do not foliar more than once a week as the cytokinesis is so strong it creates heat and will burn foliage.

Also check the zelkova…….amazing backbudding and dwarf foliage.

The Zelkova had some assistance from blue spectrum lighting and also some CO2 fertilization in a controlled environment.

I really need to make more of these!
8D54F418-4D96-4EF9-A5A9-3DD4C92F2252.jpeg1BAC5352-7B22-427C-9920-25E5C1EDF436.jpeg9D4740A1-3AD6-42D6-AA08-E2855FC60A4B.jpeg9C74FDE6-07DA-40C5-BD75-A6E36C53F20A.jpegCB237E57-1934-4EDF-97E5-0BAB69C51791.jpeg1FC5CE87-CCA6-4A56-85B5-924E7A8F34B4.jpegED553EF6-8F72-4986-8FD2-39C95CF3C992.jpeg6C1B0720-4338-4834-897C-2FB035E22ED4.jpeg8609ED6B-F553-40E4-8F4C-76C4754A795A.jpeg

Last edited:

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a