Please help, dying bonsai

Connor

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey guys,
This is my first post so I’m not really sure what I’m doing, please forgive any mistakes. I’m new to bonsai and was gifted a 30 year old ligustrum nitida bonsai for Christmas. It seems to have the Cercospora disease (yellow brown spots and yellowing leaves dropping). I’ve tried to find a fungicide that will work and is cheap but also can be delivered to the U.K, I would really appreciate any advice on products and where to get them, or any other general tips. The tree is currently kept inside under some grow lights and watered from the soil when it begins to dry.
Thankyou- it is very much appreciated.
Connor

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Welcome. I wont be able to help but somebody will be able to give advice I’m sure. Some pictures would be good though.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Welcome to the forum
From the post I gather you are somewhere in the UK but it helps if you add a general location to your profile so others can see the location at a glance. That info will help get you better info relevant to your local climate.
A photo of your tree would help us to confirm the diagnosis or suggest alternatives.
Yellowing leaves are common on trees kept inside - lack of proper lighting, poor humidity, incorrect watering, etc - not always a disease. Do you know if it has been kept inside previously? Most bonsai grow far better outside so if it is possible you should look at moving the tree into fresh air and sunlight.

Without further info it is hard to pinpoint a cause so difficult to offer a solution.

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
I was going to suggest moving it outside. We’re pretty mild in the UK at the moment so theres a pretty low chance of major frost damage.

Connor

Seedling
Reaction score