Please help identify this plant

mrmd101

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a
I purchased Ficus Benghalensis seeds from F W Schumacher Co (treeshrubseeds.com). One of the seeds from the package grew into this plant shown in the pictures. I see that the leaves look a bit different from the others and it has this yellow pollen/flowering. Could anyone help identify if this is what a ficus benghalensis is supposed to look like? The seed was planted on Nov 10, 2022 and these pictures are from today 1/1/23. This is my first time growing this tree. Thanks!

Attachments

• 20230101_084258.jpg
    20230101_084258.jpg
    288.8 KB · Views: 96
  • 20230101_084251.jpg
    20230101_084251.jpg
    244.1 KB · Views: 79
  • 20230101_084244.jpg
    20230101_084244.jpg
    246.1 KB · Views: 68
  • 20230101_084236.jpg
    20230101_084236.jpg
    376.3 KB · Views: 95

LittleDingus

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I could be way off, but it looks herbaceous to me. Soft, non-woody stems...fast growth to flower...I am not aware of any tree species that can flower in ~2 months! I don't believe it is a tree.

Does it look like any of your native wild species...something that might be considered a weed??

It could be a stray seed from the seed packet...they aren't always 100% pure...though with trees they usually are. More likely it's an opportunistic seed that got dropped there after planting. Are these kept outside?

LittleDingus

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Also...welcome to the forum :)

If you go into your account settings, you can add a grow zone and a nearby major metro. That information will then appear to the left under your avatar for every post. It helps others know something about where you are and can give more relevant advice...bnut spans 6 continents...still on the lookout for someone on the 7th ;)

mrmd101

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a