Please help me identify

Didla

Seed
Reaction score
Hello- I just went to my local Zen Garden and came home with this beauty! I’m brand new to Bonsai and have no idea what I have. I thought identifying it would be as simple as a google search but I have been proven wrong. Can anyone tell me what this is so I can keep it safe and happy? Thank you!!0553844F-A4B4-40C0-88E9-460D3AEC369A.jpeg

Attachments

• B679A04B-7411-4935-9650-95FDC6DA4A4F.jpeg
    B679A04B-7411-4935-9650-95FDC6DA4A4F.jpeg
    236.8 KB · Views: 31
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    199.6 KB · Views: 30

BrightsideB

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I’ve seen those at nurseries. Forgot the name. There are apps that help identify plants. It’s probably a variety of a species. You’ll probably have to cut it back pretty good to get new growth close to the trunk.

Didla

Seed
Reaction score
I’ve seen those at nurseries. Forgot the name. There are apps that help identify plants. It’s probably a variety of a species. You’ll probably have to cut it back pretty good to get new growth close to the trunk.
I figured I would. I have tried a couple different apps to identify and they tell me different with each pic. My search continues. Thank you very much for the info!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I been doing "so" and "ti" so long it's a good thing you're here to fill in the blank!

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Mitty

Yamadori
Reaction score
It is not easy to tell a species from a simple picture ; It really helps if you can feel the leaf for thickness and whether it is in any way soft and can be compressed. I have a variegated Cornus that is very similar to your picture, There are also some variants of Beech that are similar. I also think it could be a variant Weigela as suggested.
I have some very strong cuttings that I am growing on, that I am not at all sure of, like yourself.
I will wait, as often the mature tree has slightly different leaves. That is IMO anyway.