Please Help with Coral Bark Maple

Yona

Seedling
Reaction score
I’m a beginner at bonsai and would really love to get into it but I don’t know of any good resources, especially with so many new terms to learn and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions?

The more immediate plea for help would be for my poor coral bark maple. There are two issues that I can’t seem to find information on after scouring the internet. I got it last October as a gift for graduating. After coming out of dormancy, the main branches seem to have all died, as none of the leaves come from these branches. Did I do something wrong over winter? And how do I proceed? (Example in first picture. But all of the thicker branches look barren)

The other issue was that I had left town for a few days and my SO was keeping my plants alive. It’s been really hot and sunny but windy at night these past few days and he’s been watering it, but when I came back, all the leaves have curled and look droopy? Should I bring it inside? (I just brought it in for photos) Is it too much sun? Too much water? (Second picture)
3DCBA559-4F5E-42BE-B670-06182FAF1CBC.jpeg5E76E5A2-7AF6-431E-A9C3-731D1BAD7B1B.jpeg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Droopy leaves after just a few days is typically under watering, especially through spring and summer. Just applying water may not always wet the soil properly. Dry soil is hard to wet so water just runs round and through and out the bottom without actually wetting the soil. You may be able to see that by scratching down into the soil half an inch.
Do not bring it inside. JM need to be outdoors as much as possible. Bringing it in will make the existing and new leaves adjust to low light then there's another problem when it goes back out in the sun.
Outdoors it should have some protection from hot afternoon sun.