Podocarpus - over watered what should I do?

Shannon 70

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi All,

I bought a Podocarpuslast year, protected for the winter and it seemed to be fine, but recently the leaves have been turning brown in different areas, I pruned it and it seemed to be making a recovery and new leaves began to grow, another month in and one entire branch is now beginning to go brown but the rest is green.
I think it’s because of overwatering and maybe bad drainage.
I am thinking of taking it out and trying to dry the root and repot it Would anyone recommend this??

I am a big novice, it really want it to survive.
Many thanks

pictures attached.

Attachments

• 7D2C3E02-3115-4A6C-A6E1-4738B895C636.jpeg
    7D2C3E02-3115-4A6C-A6E1-4738B895C636.jpeg
    329.9 KB · Views: 70
  • C3390B77-5B47-46E6-B3D7-182F65E8A412.jpeg
    C3390B77-5B47-46E6-B3D7-182F65E8A412.jpeg
    280.8 KB · Views: 59
  • C5FB009C-A758-40EB-BF2B-B73C144A1171.jpeg
    C5FB009C-A758-40EB-BF2B-B73C144A1171.jpeg
    307.6 KB · Views: 57

LemonBonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Could be. What soil is it in? Also the "grayish" green foliage reminds me of a spidermite infestation. Always good to check and be safe rather then brush it off

To check for spider mites put a blank piece of white paper under that branch and with your hand, tap, and shake that branch onto the piece of paper, then lay the paper on a table and wipe your hand across it. If you see little red streaks on the paper, those are spider mites. Sometimes you can see them on the piece of paper crawling around as well before you wipe your hand across it

Shannon 70

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi,

thank you so much for replying. Interesting what you said as we have thousands of spiders in our garden and this tree is always covered in webs, but when I did what you said, only a real spider fell out, looked like a small money spider, no other red streaks. I have attached a picture of the spider.