Pondering my bonsai future...

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Not being one for keeping my thoughts to myself, I thought that I would put this out there, and seek out others' experiences as well. What I am pondering is whether to keep going with "sticks in pots" projects, or to dump those and focus on acquiring high quality trees that are ready for or even part way into styling and/or branch development. That is clearly not an original thought, but it is plaguing me a bit.

Here I have been doing this for over 15 years now (granted several of those years have been focused on other things) and I still have very little in terms of actual bonsai, let alone real-world experience with bonsai techniques. Over the past year or two, I have acquired several good solid "pre-bonsai" (not sticks in pots) with the intention of correcting that problem. So I have a decent mix now, but I can't shake the feeling that I could just be wasting my time with the sticks in pots. Especially because conditions in Utah don't seem to favor spectacular growth!

I look around at you all, and most of those who I consider advanced amateurs seem to keep a bunch of them around. But the members who have really outstanding trees, I don't see fiddling much with sticks in pots (no offense intended to the rest of you). I am still puzzling over what way to go. Anybody care to share a little bit of their journey thus far?

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
When I started out, I bought a ton of little, cheap material. The last few years I have been more selective and concentrated more on acquiring less quantity and better quality. Not that I have any massively expensive trees, I'm just trying to slowly improve my collection.

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a