Portuclacaria Afra Progress

lieuz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I recently visited Meehan's Miniatures in Boonsboro MD and man does this place have a collection of tropical trees. I found this portuclacaria afra hidden between two shefflera arboricolas. It was funny because my original intent for going was to find a few shefflera trees. I studied the p.afra for quite a while, because I wasn't sure if I'd want another p.afra. The price really did sweeten the deal because I thought it was a steal for being $60 bucks. My one reason for not wanting another one was mainly due to the fact the club I belong to don't really see these plants being traditional bonsai material. I want help with it in the future but I definitely get the negative vibe towards p.afras from the more senior members.

I came home with it anyway. I got one member who praised me for putting the time and effort into something weird and strange. So I guess that's a compliment! I'll take it! I placed the tree by my growing window on a turn table and I think for a month I couldn't do anything to it because I wanted it to get acclimated. I have a very bright window and even with the intense brightness, it can't compare to the green house it originally came from. So it did lose a bit of foliage but it wasn't significant. It's a mood swing, it'll get over it. When I noticed the p.afra pushing new growth was when I figured it was time I get working on it.

16123265_392277371144472_2043968875967545344_n.jpg

This is what it looked like after its mood swing subsided and it started pushing new growth. I placed it into a large pot to stabilize it, and in a span of about 3 days, I gave this p.afra its first initial styling. Here is the end result, light and camera action at the ready.

16908217_1460192150671048_2135689294143029248_n.jpg