Potential?

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been growing these four oranges from pips for about 3 years now?

My original intention was just to grow them as normal trees but was wondering whether oranges would make good bonsai?

Does anyone have any suggestions? From my point of view, none of them are particularly attractive so I imagine they would be better for growing into ordinary trees. I would be greatly if anyone had any suggestions though ?

Attachments

• 20210119_165330.jpg
    20210119_165330.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 63
  • 20210119_165406.jpg
    20210119_165406.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 29
  • 20210119_165610.jpg
    20210119_165610.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 22
  • 20210119_165616.jpg
    20210119_165616.jpg
    111.1 KB · Views: 23
  • 20210119_165622.jpg
    20210119_165622.jpg
    114 KB · Views: 22
  • 20210119_165715.jpg
    20210119_165715.jpg
    113.1 KB · Views: 19
  • 20210119_165721.jpg
    20210119_165721.jpg
    98.6 KB · Views: 17
  • 20210119_165734.jpg
    20210119_165734.jpg
    113.3 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210119_165847.jpg
    20210119_165847.jpg
    112.3 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210119_165836.jpg
    20210119_165836.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 82
Reaction score
I also have this thing growing. I don't have a clue what it is (any ideas would be great?).

It is so long and spindly I think it is really ugly. Once again, I don't suppose anyone would know if anything can be done to it to make it look better? Or is this a no-hope tree?

Attachments

• 20210119_151525.jpg
    20210119_151525.jpg
    206.5 KB · Views: 88
  • 20210119_151540.jpg
    20210119_151540.jpg
    231.3 KB · Views: 92

TomB

Omono
Reaction score
Citrus species used for bonsai are normally smaller/dwarfed varieties, rather than full sized oranges. You might be better off growing them as large potted trees (or planting out, depending on your climate).

Your 'thing' is some variety of two needle pine.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Agree on both counts.