Pots and Glaze

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Had 4 pots come out of the kiln this week. All the same basic design. Trying to get a handle on glazing. These pots were double dipped about 3 seconds each which was way to much glaze. I am just learning. I will not make that mistake again, however, I am happy with the colors. One pot has a drip that is off the side of the pot which, according to my instructor, is a very desirable trait in some Japanese potting circles. It actually has a name but I have forgotten what he called it. Front and inside view.

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Nice work there!!! It amazes me at the quality I see from you newbies to pottery. No way could I even come close to your finished results.
To be honest I never thought I would be able to do it either. It is odd to me to think I have created something like this.

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
I really like the 2nd and 3rd one. I'm sure alot of people might not want a purple pot, so you might as well just send it to me;)

TyroTinker

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
That 2nd one almost looks like a forest scene at night with black tree trunks and underbrush with some ominous back lighting

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Nice work I really like the fading purple glaze. Good improvement on the feet, and you side walls are looking better. Keep up the good work.

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Niiiiice!
Would you sell them?
You know I am just not sure I am there yet with the selling. Maybe someday for sure. But for now I like to hear other peoples feedback and I will keep trying to improve how I put them together.

Gsquared

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
Looking great! What size are they? They’re really well done.

Oh yes, how did you glaze just the outside. I’ve been mulling that over. Can’t dip the whole thing. Do you use wax resist on the feet and bottom?

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone