Pottery making advice please

JeffS73

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Potters, you're advice please - I started making my first bonsai pot over the Christmas break:

20211231_171504.jpg

I'm still working one the feet, but I noticed the pot is drying out and starting to pull up at the corners:
20220101_181119.jpg

Its the same on all the corners. I'm keeping it rim down on a flat board in a plastic bag overnight, and the main body was quite dry when I started on the rim, like a day or two later. I'd say the pot is at least leather hard, i can smooth it a little with the mudtools but not much more. Is this a difference in drying rates? Can I fix it? It's got its faults, but I'm not making a banana.

Thanks for having a look.

Cruiser

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Looks good so far. I’d be proud if that was my first pot.
Unfortunately, I have no experience making these so I can’t answer your question. But I am signed up for a ceramics class later this month and plan to start… so I’m curious to hear answers as well.

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I think it has more goods than faults.

I like the "live edge".

I would like to better understand how you got from no rim to rim, to try to understand the thickness around your thumb area, and wether the walls are the same thickness of what that "live edge" shows.

The simple answer is drying.

That is absolutely useless to you without knowing the rest of this information.

What Clay? Do you know what the Clay Body is made up of?

Sorce

JeffS73

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I think it has more goods than faults.

I like the "live edge".

I would like to better understand how you got from no rim to rim, to try to understand the thickness around your thumb area, and wether the walls are the same thickness of what that "live edge" shows.

The simple answer is drying.

That is absolutely useless to you without knowing the rest of this information.