Potting a Nursery Juniper

Pug933

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi All,

I just potted up the nursery junipers that I've been fattening up for the past 3 years from regular soil to bonsai soil. And now I'm terrified that they'll die like my first attempt at bonsai many years ago. When I moved them I only trimmed the rootball so it would fit into the pots, I did not trim the foliage as I believe that was one of my errors the first time around. I expect there to be some die back as the roots are proportionally smaller than the foliage, but I was led to believe that leaving the foliage on would be less of a shock to the plant as opposed to cutting off equal amounts of roots and foliage to balance the tree. Is this true, and how long should I wait before applying a diluted fertilizer?

Thanks,

Katie

brentwood

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Expect at least a couple weeks before you fertilize as an answer, and I bet this time your plants live...
Good luck!
B

Tidal Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi All,

I just potted up the nursery junipers that I've been fattening up for the past 3 years from regular soil to bonsai soil. And now I'm terrified that they'll die like my first attempt at bonsai many years ago. When I moved them I only trimmed the rootball so it would fit into the pots, I did not trim the foliage as I believe that was one of my errors the first time around. I expect there to be some die back as the roots are proportionally smaller than the foliage, but I was led to believe that leaving the foliage on would be less of a shock to the plant as opposed to cutting off equal amounts of roots and foliage to balance the tree. Is this true, and how long should I wait before applying a diluted fertilizer?

Thanks,

Katie