Potting Prep!

Fridge

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi all

I am fairly new to Bonsai and have acquired 3 trees over 2 years which I feel is quite restrained!

I am based in the UK so this potting season in the next month or so I will be needing to re-pot all of these for the first time (for me)

I am thinking of:
Pine - put in to the pot the Juniper is currently in
Juniper - get a new pot
Maple - trim roots, change soil etc but put back in to the pot it is currently in

Does this seem like a good plan to you? Please let me know if you would suggest something alternative. All my bonsai are in development so want them in fairly large pots

Thanks for any help!
Fred

Attachments

• 2932EAE9-E05E-4C57-AB3B-7F76456E4907.jpeg
    2932EAE9-E05E-4C57-AB3B-7F76456E4907.jpeg
    182.6 KB · Views: 118
  • 672FC44B-0FC2-479E-BC0A-E6DB4CF06298.jpeg
    672FC44B-0FC2-479E-BC0A-E6DB4CF06298.jpeg
    189.1 KB · Views: 115

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I wouldn't repot if there are still frosts on the horizon. I'm not all that familiar with UK weather patterns, but just across the pond we usually get some serious frosts around feb-march, so I don't repot until spring.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I agree with switching the pine to a pot similar in size to the Juniper pot.
The juniper could either stay in the same pot or a little bit larger one.

However I do agree with what Wires Guy said. You need to repot at the right time and not every species is repotted at the same time.
You need to repot the pine and the maple when the buds are just starting to swell, so you need to watch your trees and see when that happens.
In my experience this occurs at about the same time but again, you need to watch your trees and do it when they tell you its time.
Junipers are typically repotted a bit later, as they start to show new growth on the tips of the branches.