pre bonsai 101

yingyang

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi

I am completely new to the art of bonsai. So new I would classify myself as an ignorant. :) I come here to the experts and the people of knowledge in order that I might learn a thing or two and guide me by listening to your advice. I have purchased seeds of the kinds Jacaranda Mimosifolia ; Pinus Aristata ; Ficus Religiosa ; Picea Mariana. My intention is for them to be indoor plants. However I am wondering if for the upcoming few months I can start my pots outdoors and then eventually move them indoor by autumn time. I live in Canada in the Ottawa valley region and temperatures are generally speaking, warming up. I have an area that is facing south that receives a good amount of sunlight during the day. Would this be fine or would it be better to start them indoor. I will be using bonsai soil as an FYI. As well, any flowering bonsai that you would recommend for indoor? AS a matter of fact are the ones that I have ordered ( they come in a kit that I have a feeling some of you already know about as I have seen many videos on Youtube about them) are these ones recommended for indoors, if not any suggestions? I humbly wait for any bit of information and I thank you for taking the time to read what I have posted.

Tacoma2012

Seedling
Reaction score
Very new to bonsai myself, but not new to horticulture... my advice would be to obviously get a few trees that are already established when you get started, as seeds will take MANY years... and for the outdoor stuff, stick to native species that you know already grow well in your area.

Welcome!!

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Ficus do very well indoors as they are naturally plants of shady tropical forests. Most growers take figs indoors for winter then out for the summer when temps are above freezing. With good lighting you may even be able to keep them indoors all year round.