Pre bonsai maple help with next steps

Bonsaipadawan

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I bought this from someone recently it seems to have received some decent care and planning already as the trunk has been chopped and had cut paste applied. The soil level is relatively low and has a semi decent looking nabari. I was wondering what my next steps are as my other maples are just saplings I planted by seed a year and a half ago.

What should I be doing, should I be doing any pruning to maybe cause some ramifications or like bud pinching?

Maybe some wiring? I am quite new to bonsai and most of my experience styling so far is with junipers.

Thanks for checking out my post.

Attachments

• 20220528_194626.jpg
    20220528_194626.jpg
    120.9 KB · Views: 93
  • 20220528_194621.jpg
    20220528_194621.jpg
    106.2 KB · Views: 94
  • 20220528_194630.jpg
    20220528_194630.jpg
    123.1 KB · Views: 86
  • 20220528_194648.jpg
    20220528_194648.jpg
    165.5 KB · Views: 85
  • 20220516_184324.jpg
    20220516_184324.jpg
    162.5 KB · Views: 84
  • 20220516_184304.jpg
    20220516_184304.jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 80
  • 20220516_184313.jpg
    20220516_184313.jpg
    138.3 KB · Views: 76
  • 20220516_184315.jpg
    20220516_184315.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 73
  • 20220516_184218.jpg
    20220516_184218.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 67
  • 20220516_184203.jpg
    20220516_184203.jpg
    175.9 KB · Views: 97

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
There are many different approaches to developing bonsai and most will end up with a reasonable bonsai. Some different approaches depend on what size and standard of bonsai you are aiming for.
To develop thicker trunk, impressive bonsai the usual approaches are regular grow and chop cycles either in larger containers or in the ground.
For a smaller, generic bonsai a few grow and prune cycles should develop a reasonable canopy but won't increase trunk thickness much.