Pre-bonsai pruning

giventofly

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
So I have some acers just growing until I can do something with them, currently I'm we are entering/on spring and I wanted it to grow, but at the same time try to start to give it some shape. At what point can I prune? Always during spring/summer ? How much ?

1648226216211.png

MSU JBoots

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I’m still a total noob but I’m guessing the main response will be something along the lines of wire the trunk to give it movement but no pruning. Let it grow wild to fatten up the trunk. Maybe even let it grow in the ground to hasten the growing process.

giventofly

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I put it with soil in the bottom to let the roots come out. I was intending in let some branches go, but was expecting I would need to cut some to force the growth in other places.

Also, if I wire what can I do? I don't want to make it a informal upright, but I'm open to any other style

MSU JBoots

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Again I know very little. It seems there is very little there to try to design at this point. I would say with a trunk that slender you could wire it now to likely make the beginning of any style you wish.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
You can prune maples at any time in the development process. Pruning this young will slow down growth and trunk thickening but the upside it the final bonsai is usually much better though it may take an extra 10 years to get there.
I prefer to create bends in maples by pruning to a side branch then grow again. Wired bends always seem to look artificial.

Not sure why you don't like informal upright or what you have in mind for informal upright with Japanese maple.
Your little tree is currently vertical in the pot so does that mean you would like to grow a formal upright tree? Probably not really natural shape for Japanese maple.