Pre-Bonsai Shaping Ideas

Migs

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Have a pre-bonsai rusty fig... it has an interesting v shape trunk. Would love to get ideas on how to shape this tree. Thank you.

20220121_152856.jpg

Huggz13

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I’m new to Bonsai, so don’t listen to me.
But here’s what I see.

Maybe I’m on the right track, maybe not.
I’m sure someone will point you in the right direction and I’ll learn something too.

Attachments

• DC1471A1-8683-49E2-9725-0DE9D0402790.jpeg
    DC1471A1-8683-49E2-9725-0DE9D0402790.jpeg
    72.8 KB · Views: 111

Migs

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thank you. New as well and my eye went to that curve exactly. I was just wonder if that was wrong to get rid the trunk after the split.

Huggz13

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Thank you. New as well and my eye went to that curve exactly. I was just wonder if that was wrong to get rid the trunk after the split.
Well we are either both right or both wrong haha

Here’s what I was thinking I’d do right now.....
I’d go ahead and remove that left trunk fork and get some putty on it.

Wire the trunk all the way up to what would become your new leader and then remove that stub and little branch to the right of the new leader.
Try to get some more leftward bend in the trunk at what would become your first branch.

The second branch from the bottom on the right would become your first branch. Just wire it down horizontal.

The lowest branch on the right you could leave as a sacrifice branch to add thickness to the trunk then remove it later.

You’d have a nice S curve in your trunk, your new leader established, some decent taper, and your first branch established.

Then just let it flush out with new growth this season and it’s well on it’s way!

...but again, don’t listen to me because I’m new. But that’s how I’d attack it, right or wrong.

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
Make a cutting out of that little stub on the left, new tree!.

Shibui