Pre-Bonsai Starters - Move to larger pot or leave alone?

meda4

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hey all,

I am new to bonsai and am thinking about grabbing a few pre-bonsai trees, namely trident maple, black pine, to get comfortable with watering and feeding them properly. I read that it is not a good idea to repot trees in the summer but was wonder if just simply moving them to a larger pot with more soil during summer is a good idea or not. I would not be doing any root pruning, just simply giving them a bit more room than the very small black plastic nursery pots they would come in. Would this be reasonable or is it better to wait til next spring?

Thanks for any advice!

meda4

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Thanks for the advice! Been lurking around the forums for some time now and figured it was time to give growing a tree or two a shot :)

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
As to simple up-potting, I do a ton of it this time of the year. You will get a lot of root growth between now and the beginning of cold weather. I also believe it is a bit more insulation for the roots. You will find that all commercial nurseries are busy up-potting now.
This speaks only to up-potting to grow a plant out, and not to a plant in stages of refinement.

meda4

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Ok cool. I would certainly be just up-potting and not disturbing the roots as much as possible. Also interesting about the insulation for the roots as there are occasionally pretty cold snaps here in zone 5 so that may be of help as well!

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
@meda4
Please put your location on your profile.
Bonsai advice is often based on location so listing it will help us help you without having to ask you repeatedly where you are.

meda4

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Thanks for the reminder, went ahead and did so. I am in zone 5b if that has any bearing on anyone's opinion!

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b