Presumed recurrent fungal infection on Trident Maple

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Not sure why a bacterial infection would be caused by a root fungus?

Hazarding an opinion, over the past years it seems to me folks with high humidity, hot weather and a water retentive media like bark and those who have done a lot of work on their trees at non optional times, seem to have the most issues.

Yet I’m only an expert for what works in this yard, containing many different species of trees . 😎.

That said, I rarely have issues and these mainly crop up when we have the torrential rainfall in spring or fall, when I jam a bunch of cuttings or trees close together, water too late in the day or try to force work on a tree at inappropriate times.

When issues first crop up, there is an established protocol that works for the trees here.

cheers
DSD sends
I guess you are making the point I was making before about not having to use H2O2: Work on healthy plants. Use the best horticultural practices and at the right time of the year, and most problems are avoided.

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Well, I removed any diseased leaves/shoots and applied Infuse granular today and have been watching the water. We have been visited by almost daily thunderstorms so keeping the maples drier than usual is an issue but I know the pH is not an issue. However given the inorganic substrate it goes through the pot like shit through a goose, hopefully the Infuse will not be washed out as fast. If that doesn’t work this year I may get out the H2O2 and add that to the mix next year.

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b