Procumbens Nana - Cascade Style in a Sorce Pot

Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I've got a couple one gallon Procumbens Nana junipers that I've been growing out from nursery stock over the last couple years. They were big box store purchases, and my initial plan was to use them to learn about repotting. I did some cleaning and minor foliage pruning, but the real priority was to get them out of the nursery growout mix, learn to build an appropriate substrate for my climate, and repot. Here are the only photos I've got from that work, all they show are how I prepped the 6" terracotta pot I used for growout, and then a poorly framed topshot of one of the trees potted in the substrate. This was August 2019.

Terracotta Holes.jpg IMG_7350.jpg

The trees responded quite well to the repotting, growing undisturbed and quite vigorously. Here's a photo of today's subject tree in September '20, just over a year on from the repot.

IMG_8555.jpg

I've been eyeballing this guy for a few months now with an eye towards doing an initial style and repot into a pretty sweet @sorce Pot I picked up a while ago. And, yesterday was the day. As per usual, I didn't think to stop and take any photos until I was already elbows deep into wiring and branch selection, so the next photos start someway through the work.

IMG_8918.jpg

Wired and cleaned some foliage

IMG_8921.jpg

There are two cascading trunks on this tree - I'm not sure that's a "thing," but it's what the tree gave me so it's what we're going with for now and I think it actually works.

IMG_8922.jpg

There's the new pot next to the terracotta job it has been growing out in. You can see that they're very similarly sized, so this shouldn't be a tough adjustment for the tree.

IMG_8923.jpg

This is a pretty easy pot to prep, only one drainage hole to mesh over. Love that Sorce Chop!

IMG_8924.jpg