Procumbens shaping help

mikejungle

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Noob here.

Can you guys help me decide which way to take this tree?

I would prefer for it to grow more upwards, or if it were to sweep, sweep at a non acute angle.
I also don't want to do something the tree doesn't wasn't to, but this one looks like an awkward cascade to me right now.

Any general shaping suggestions, as well as which sections to prune would be welcome! I've kind of just let it do its thing for the past 2 years.

Attachments

• 20210213_144629.jpg
    20210213_144629.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 102

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
So what you have is a small bush with a big cascade branch dominating it. Now you could use that to your advantage by using the long cascade as a sacrifice branch to help grow the main plant and trunk bigger, faster. Once it gains some girth and the crown fills in then you can cut back the cascade branch and regrow as much of it as you want. If you have space in your yard put it in the ground and let it grow bigger. If you don’t have room then put it in a pond basket or plastic collander and let it grow. This all assumes you are wanting a bigger plant instead of a shohin or mame.

mikejungle

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Right now, I can't see the tree for the trees, I guess. I would love for that main branch to be a sacrifice branch, but there doesn't seem to be a suitable successor for it.

If I throw it in the ground, will it sprout one? Or will one of these tiny branches look more branchy? I'm probably moving in a few months, so I can't put it in the ground, but I'm willing to out it in a bigger pot.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Well, I have a tree that started just like this. It is the one in my profile pic actually. You could grow it as a cascade or do what I did and cut the droopy part off. Another option would be to wire the droopy section up. 😊

mikejungle

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b