Progression of a newbies collection

gallina1594

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
So this year is my 3rd year and I've learned that next year is the year boys... I've been lurking hard this summer, reading everyone's advice, BEING PATIENT NOT TO LET MY EAGERNESS GET THE BEST OF ME AND MY PLANTS, and just generally prepping my material for each of their next stages.

My collection is a mixture of nursery , store bought, and collected native material. I know a lot of people say don't waste your time if it won't make an "awesome" bonsai some day. But I like the challenge of taking what I have, and trying to make it look the best it can. I'm a college student and college students are broke.

I want to document the progress of my collection not only for myself, but for other newbies to watch a slightly more advance noob fail and succeed with his material.

American elm
15064650914371508948842.jpg
This spring I will finally get this guy into some proper soil. It's been growing in native soul for about 3 years now due to unfortunate circumstances. I want to keep these ugly surface roots to attempt a root-over-rock down the road, will chop when buds begin to push in the early spring.

gallina1594

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Spruce? Was labeled boxwood at nursery and that clearly isn't right.

I might have gotten eager with this one, did some heavy pruning mid-summer. Want to style it windswept.
15064656091011071109160.jpg

Attachments

• 15064655521801967441778.jpg
    15064655521801967441778.jpg
    348.1 KB · Views: 204

gallina1594

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Juniper

Store bought, nothing crazy. Was a dumb little busy before I came along and cleaned it up. Putting some movement in the trunk, forming pads, and training leader to cascade
15064658096491939675145.jpg

gallina1594

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Silver maple