Projects in BNut's Backyard

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I thought I'd join the gang, and include a few "work-in-progress" trees. I recently moved from SoCal to North Carolina, and had to more or less bare-root all my trees. They are all in Anderson flats or large pond baskets now, and it may be next spring before I get the opportunity to start moving them back into bonsai pots (since all my bonsai pots are still back in SoCal).

At any rate, here's a tree I've been working for the last three years. It is a silverberry - Elaeagnus sp. - that I picked up as a five gallon nursery plant. It is an interesting tree... evergreen with small intensely fragrant blooms in the late fall. The last couple of years have been spent reducing the height by about 40%, removing many bad or overly thick branches, and repotting it from the five gallon nursery pot into an Anderson flat.

Here is what it looked like when I first got it, and my first trunk reduction:

silver00.jpg

Now that I am situated in North Carolina, I have been waiting until it has begun pushing strong leggy growth before I defoliate it and wire the branches. As of this morning it looked like this. I am working on it under my porch stairs to stay out of the sun :)

silver01.jpg

Just for fun, I defoliated the entire tree to show the branch structure. Normally I would prune as I defoliate, since there would be no point in defoliating branches that I had no intention of keeping. Here is what it looked like defoliated. For some reason, I didn't turn the tree to take the photo from the front. This is the back of the tree.

silver02.jpg

And here it is pruned and wired. I'm still not happy with the branch structure, but it will come with time. I'll take another photo when the tree leafs out. This is the only work I plan on doing on this tree this year. Trying to keep it as strong as possible to heal the big pruning scars.

silver03.jpg

Last edited:

Bonsai Nut

Reaction score