Propagating Japanese Maples via cuttings

ysrgrathe

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I'm about to try my hand at cuttings (Japanese Maple cultivars). This is the procedure I intend to use; I would love any feedback on the approach because I am not experienced in this.

1. Sterilize all propogation surfaces using household bleach diluted 10:1 with water.
2. Prepare 10:1 dilute bleach solution.
3. Prepare Captan solution at label strength.
4. Prepare 10,000ppm IBA dip-and-grow solution.
5. Take scions from new growth in early morning when turgid. Cut with straight razor and wound 1". Remove all fleshy growth, shorten to 3 nodes if necessary.
6. Dip scion in bleach for 5s, then Captan for 5s, then dip-and-grow for 5s.

I plan to utilize these mist sprayers in two different ways.

First method: aeroponic cloning. The scions will be suspended in a constant spray of water containing NPK and DynaGrow Pro-tekt. Water pH adjusted to 5.8. There is no substrate.

Second method: humidity dome with timed mist. I have read the best substrate is 1:1 peat:perlite, but I'm afraid it will become completely waterlogged under the timed mist. Thoughts?

Timing: I've seen everything from now to late June for softwood cuttings. Right now my scions are nowhere near the "size of a pencil" that I see referenced in some texts.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
For acer palmatum 3,000 ppm IBA is better.
Dip in a solution of 2tbls 3% hydrogen peroxide per quart of water is the same as Zerotol at recommended strength and can replace both Captan and bleach PLUS less hazardous and eco-friendly since peroxide breaks down to only reactive oxygen (which does the sterilization work) and plain ole water.
I'm just a hobyist, but I haven't seen that damaging the cut end has any significant effect on acer palmatum rootability.