Propagation of Atlantic Cedar from cuttings?

stromy

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I've been offered to take some cuttings from Atlantic Cedar whenever I want to. It's tempting to have some young cedar trees but first I want to ask you all if anyone has been successful with the above and if so, what time of year would work for that best. Thanks much in advance.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have no experience with cedrus cuttings. But seed grown cedrus reach about 6 inches after year one, and about a foot in year two.
This makes me think that this is one of those rare cases where seedlings can outperform cuttings.
Something worth considering.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
I seem to remember getting a cedrus deodar to strike once many years ago but I've tried repeatedly recently with no success and all the info I can find says cedrus do not strike as cuttings so probably faulty memory.
There is always a chance but with cedar that chance is very, very slim. See if you can get some seeds instead of cuttings.

stromy

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Thank you all for your inputs. Obviously, it's not what I was hoping to learn but it is how it is.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If you can't take cuttings of an Atlas Ceder can you maybe airlayer them?
I have wondered that myself, not only of Atlas but the other true cedars as well. I imagine that if it is possible, it would take some time.
I will tray it on my weeping Lebanon Cedar early next year.
Interested to know if anyone has had any success so I thank you for posting this.

stromy

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a