pruning Chinese elm--when to stop before end of growing season/first frost

butlern

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I have two Chinese elms that are constantly growing, summer heat of Oklahoma (7b), more recent cooler weather lately, doesn't matter. Grow, grow, grow.

Good signs, I think, and pretty standard for this species.

But, my questions pertains to getting ready for winter: should I stop pruning and just let them go (grow unchecked) as fall/winter approaches? I'm guessing the new growth should eventually be allowed to harden off, which will help strengthen and prepare roots (and the rest of the tree) for the coming winter, and the tree will stop pushing new growth on it's own as the growing season/daylight dwindles.

Average first frost (historic data) for this area is November 1st.

Any suggestions? Just let them go? Is now the time to stop pruning the elms in 7b with an average first frost of November 1st?

Clearly, I'm new to these endeavors (started this spring) and I have never over wintered trees. I just want to be sure I don't inadvertently encourage new growth (if it's ill advised) at the wrong time, as the end of the growing season approaches.

Thanks.

Noah

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'd imagine you ought be done cutting, probly by Middle August.

Sorce

butlern

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Roger that, Sorce.

Thank you, sir.

Pruning done!

erb.75

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
ya, i'm not pruning any more here in Ohio. I stopped (and my trees slowed down their growth) right around sometime in mid-late august

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
I backed off mine about a month ago. In the winter, I'll prune and wire.
Welcome to the Nuthouse.

butlern

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Yeah, ok thanks for the feedback... These trees are still going crazy... Which is why I was wondering if I could (should) still be training directional growth patterns.