Prunus Avium in garden. How to bonsai?

irebonsai

Seed
Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm new to bonsai but have been reading this and other blogs so I'm familiar with techniques and terminology. I have this cherry tree in my garden, and really want to turn it into a bonsai. I know that this time of year is a good time to start, but I don't know if I should pot it now, or prune it further, or where to begin. Thanks in advance for your advice, I really appreciate it!

Important info:
Tree age: unknown
Type of tree: prunus avium; cherry
Tree dimensions: 1 meter high, main trunk 6cm diameter, smaller trunks 3cm diameter

Attachments

• IMG_4709.jpg
    IMG_4709.jpg
    131.8 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_4710.jpg
    IMG_4710.jpg
    479.2 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4711.jpg
    IMG_4711.jpg
    178 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4712.jpg
    IMG_4712.jpg
    157.3 KB · Views: 40

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I'm against removing nice trees from a garden. So I'll recommend wiring some branches into a nice shape and air layer them!
Cherries make roots pretty fast, generally. So it takes about 8 weeks for an air layer to be ready.

Wait for the foliage to emerge, then strip a brak ring of your wired branch, and wrap the cut in sphagnum peat moss. Keep it damp for those 8 weeks and then saw the branch off if there are enough roots, pot it up and keep it in bright shade until august.
Next year you'll have a bunch!

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
If the tree doesn't need to come out, I support Guy_wires' notion. A garden or yard without trees is dreadful. There are dozens of threads here to help explain the air layering process. I plan to give it a go for the first time on some trees around my place this year. Softwood cuttings in another couple months is also an option, though you'd be waiting years for the same development you already have there.