Prunus I.D.

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
I’ve been growing this ‘plant nursery’ throw-away for several years now. I think it is fair to say that it is a Prunus but other than that I do not know what it is. I’ve been holding off asking for an I.D. until I could photograph it well and now that it has just begun to develop fruit today (for the very first time!) I think the time is right.

1). It has finely-toothed serrated leaves – dark green top, reddish brown under.

2). Very pale pink (almost white) 5-petaled blossoms.

3). The fruit seems to be oval.

4). The trunk is typically Prunus, shiny red with horizontal lenticels.

Well? Would anyone like to put me out of my misery and I.D. this thing?

Attachments

• Prunus 001 april-29-2017 .JPG
    Prunus 001 april-29-2017 .JPG
    287.3 KB · Views: 44
  • Prunus 003.JPG
    Prunus 003.JPG
    172.4 KB · Views: 45
  • Prunus 004.JPG
    Prunus 004.JPG
    183.6 KB · Views: 44
  • Prunus 005.JPG
    Prunus 005.JPG
    175.3 KB · Views: 43
  • Prunus 03.JPG
    Prunus 03.JPG
    63.3 KB · Views: 43
  • Prunus 010.JPG
    Prunus 010.JPG
    242.8 KB · Views: 45

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
Do Malus have such shiny, red bark?

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
depends on the variety, but yes they can when young. Looks like Robinson but i'm no expert
Thank you very much. I am going to look up this 'Robinson' and see what I can find out about it.

Giga

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
I have a Robison that is light pink, but there are so many varities

petegreg

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
The leaves resemble crabapple. But the flowers are from Prunus gender.

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
Yes, I see now. I’ve been spending time with Google. Some plum varieties have near-white blossom that are 5-petaled, the ends of which are NOT split. They also have green to red, serrated leaves.