Pumice size Help!

Hump

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
All,

I'll be placing a bougainvillea into a 2 gallon container to keep growing it. I just received it from an auction. 12 inches tall, about 1.5 inch trunk

Heres my question.

In a 2 gallon pot, should I use 3/8 pumice? I have a bunch of 1/8 to 1/4 size pumice which I can sift to 1/4, but I'm not sure if that's too small for such a large pot. I normally use 1/4 fot my bonsais in small pots. I'll be mixing 50% pumice and 50% soil.

Ive never grown a Bonsai in 2 gallon pots, Ive only really purchased mature bonsais and placed them in small pots as I'm new to this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I'll be mixing 50% pumice and 50% soil.

Define "soil" - one type of soil is vastly different from another. Depending on your organic blend, the piece size of the pumice may be irrelevant. Part of the job of your inorganic particles is to create and maintain void space in the soil. If you use a fine organic soil mix in your bonsai soil, it will fill in all the void space, so it wouldn't matter if you used 1/8" or 1/2" particle size.

hinmo24t

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
if your boug is 1.5" trunk already, maybe its time for bonsai pot where itll still grow and thicken

YAN

Yamadori
Reaction score
Here is a test i did lately on different sizes of pumice under full sun for 24 hours if it helps you by any way.
I have no experience but what I’ve read many ppl grow successfully in pure pumice for fast growth.
I also read about the importance of using uniform grain size to avoid stratification (when smaller size particles sink to the bottom and larger floats to surface after successive watering) specially with pumice since it’s very light and floats.
You can find more data in my thread lava vs pumice vs leca soil test
8C805B28-35F4-45E8-AD82-54C97EDFA488.jpeg

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone