Purchasing a redwood/young redwood care

nekobes

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hi all, I'm quite new to this hobby and would like any advice or input anybody is willing to give me. In fact, as of now, I haven't styled, nor do I yet plan to style, any trees. For the time being, I'm only interested in growing young saplings to raise in the coming years, while reading up on some general basic bonsai knowledge to apply when those trees are ready.

With that in mind, there are two young redwood seedlings I am interested in purchasing to grow for the next few years before attempting to train them into bonsai. One is a ~26" tall Dawn Redwood, the other is a ~12" tall Coast Redwood. From what I've read so far, the Dawn is more common in bonsai applications and is a bit more hardy. However, I personally find the Coast a bit more visually appealing when mature. More importantly, how should I go about raising either one of these trees so that they can be trained into bonsai in the future, from the stages in development they are each currently in? I'm not particularly interested in buying a mature, pre-styled redwood; I would much rather get a young plant that I can have the experience of growing myself and styling when we are both ready.

If anybody can give me advice on how to care for these trees from their present state, or direct me towards resources about the subject, I would be greatly thankful.

Brad in GR

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Two great trees.

My thoughts from zone 6a:

Dawn redwood: not much if any winter protection needed regardless of whether it’s in a pot versus planted in the ground. Grows like a weed. Heavy pruning or repotting: springtime at bud swell is best. Very upright growth habit. Loves moisture and takes more water to keep happy than most in my garden during summer months.