Q's on hard-pruning this leggy Adenium/desert rose:

SU2

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I've got little experience w/ Adeniums, I know it's better to wait a month but this isn't mine & client wants it done, will be going Mon (we're a 'warm' zone 9b here, and it's inside a fenced pool-area) to prune it for spring/summer.

I'm hoping for thoughts & suggestions, the goal is to basically get it into a "skeleton form" I can kinda leave the owner with, I mean they'll probably have me back at some point for further maintenance but who knows, so was thinking to hard-prune all the primaries except the fattest, highest-on-trunk one which I'd "medium prune" so it could stay as leader (maybe leave it un-touched?), and then I'd be wiring out the branches, to form a basic 'topiary-type' rounded half-oval top so the client can let the new growth come in & simply use scissors or pinching to keep it "to shape"

Pics:
adenium.jpegadenium1.jpeg
Have also considered leaving *two* of those primaries as leaders, I mean that trunk needs *something* to make it stretch upward/be less of a circle lol, and so far as general "canopy design" I guess I'm picturing the type of canopy that isn't necessarily "professionally appropriate" when it's defoliated, but will still look good to "the 99%" (why I said "topiary" earlier, am imagining setting-up a "skeleton" so the client can use scissors just "keeping the final shape we choose" something more like:
adenium553464_392389450785937_126862804005271_1388155_887936251_n.jpg

Thanks a ton, am eager to do some real work on an adenium heck for years b4 getting into bonsai my favorite "tree" was actually an adenium (this guy:adeniumimpara lily adenium.jpg

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
The pictures of the specimen trees look decidedly Vietnamese. I think that's a good goal for your customer unless they said they want a bonsai style, in which case you're screwed.

Reactions: SU2

rodeolthr

Shohin
Reaction score