Question on Ficus Microcarpa

NOVAbonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I was wondering what the best time of year (assuming late spring or early summer) would be the best time to do a graft of some branches cut from the top of my ficus lower down on the trunk. Also what is the best method to graft these branches without the ability to thread graft (branch is to far away). Any tips would be appreciated because I am very new to grafting.

Next question: I have some aerial roots I want to move. What is the best method for moving them and how successful is it when you move them? I have seen a video of a guy cutting a aerial root off and inserting it in a slit in the bark but there was no follow up....will I loose these roots or is it pretty easy with this species? Thanks.

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Hello from Haymarket!

Generally, when the ficus is growing and healthy you should be OK to work on it.

In terms of moving aerial roots, you can cut a plastic straw lengthwise and gently push the root into it and move it to the desired location. Keep the straw moistened to prevent the root from drying out.

JonW

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I do most of my work on tropicals in summer, after I've done all the work on my other trees, the tropicals have been outside and transitioned to full sun, the nights are staying warm and I see signs of vigor.